The mission of the SEIU-West Worker Safety Committee is to create strategies and programs that broaden the awareness of safety for all SEIU West members. We will strive to be a knowledgeable resource for SEIU West Staff and the Executive and  to offer education and support for our members on matters relating to Occupational Health and Safety.

Committee Members

Committee Co-Chairs:

Kevin Fallis

Maureen Colmin

Committee Members:

Justine Cherpin - Direct Support Professional, Southwest Homes (Swift Current) 

Susan Andreas - Cypress Regional Hospital (Swift Current) 306.750.9971

Angela Caragata  - Pioneer Lodge (Moose Jaw) - 306-630-8615 

Lee-Anne Newsham - The Meadows (Swift Current) - 306-315-3158 

Tanya Shappard - Medical Laboratory Technologist 2 - RUH (Saskatoon) - 306.222.7537 

Susanne Kraus

Joey Javier

Top Officer:
Janice Platzke, – C 306.773.2536 ext. 8732

Staff Representative:
Karman Kawchuk – 306.652.1011 ext. 2232

Day of Mourning: April 28, 2020

On April 28th, the National Day of Mourning, we remember and mourn for the workers who have been injured or killed on the job. In remembering, we must not let those lost lives be in vain. We need to rejuvenate our efforts to make sure all workers can come home from work safe and healthy every day.


Join a SEIU-West Committee!

SEIU-West Committees keep us at the forefront of the Labour movement in Canada, and provide an excellent opportunity for members to learn from each other. Committee members serve for two years, and we have now approached the end of a two-year term so we are requesting SEIU-West members and all current committee members to submit their Expressions of Interest form should they wish to serve or remain on committees.


Take action

Virtual Bulletin Board

Connect with us